Fair as the Mossmallow in May

by swellsbennett

I think Shakespeare might have been wrong when he wrote this:

“What’s in a name? That which we call a rose
By any other name would smell as sweet.”

I think if someone had named the rose…oh, I don’t know…mossmallow, let’s say, they wouldn’t be nearly as popular. For one thing, mossmallow is much harder to rhyme with than rose.

I believe we become our names. Susan Irene, for instance, means “peaceful lily.” For the most part, I live my life quietly. “Susan” is perceived as a serious name by most people, so no one is particularly surprised when they discover that I’m basically a bookworm. I have never met a Susan who wasn’t more of an intellectual than your average girl. Even the main character on Suddenly Susan was bookish, and Brooke Shields played the part!

My mom’s attempt to make me a “Susie” fell flat because I’m just not a “Susie” type of girl. “Susies” are bright, cheery types with a penchant for cheerleading. Yeah…that’s not me at all. That reminds me of the day I found my college suitemates watching a cheerleading competition on my television…a story for another day. But if she had named me Susie instead of Susan, would I have been an altogether more bubbly sort of woman? How will we ever know?

The moral of the story is this: Parents, be careful when you name your children. Without even knowing it, you are selecting a mould that your child will probably grow into.

Mug shot of Susan Atkins.

Even Susan Atkins was an intellectual type. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Enhanced by Zemanta
