Turtles Make Terrible Salesmen

by swellsbennett

On Monday night, just as I was settling in for a nice evening of television-watching with Dan, my dear friend Nikki called. “Would you meet me at Metrocenter at six-thirty?”

Now, to be perfectly honest, my instant response to that question was “no.” I was not dressed for going out, I hadn’t fixed my hair or makeup, and I was comfortably ensconced on my new couch, watching Once Upon a Time. But, realizing that Nikki wouldn’t call on such short notice for no reason, I asked her what was going on.

“I’m supposed to go to a Lia Sophia event and the friend who was going with me backed out.”

Okay, now I’m the runner-up for the event – other women might have been offended, but I was actually relieved that she hadn’t invited me to begin with. Don’t get me wrong: I like their jewelry. However, I have no interest in hosting a party or becoming a vendor, and those are the two activities the current vendors are most interested in having you do. I know – I’ve been a Mary Kay salesperson twice and a Quikstar vendor once. The sales pitch is always so promising that I forget I’m about as extroverted as a turtle.

Nevertheless, I agreed to attend the event with her…because she is my friend and I wouldn’t want to go to any kind of an event by myself. I put on my makeup, fixed my hair, and left the house on a freezing-cold night because I know in my heart that she would do the same thing for me.

“Will you be buying anything?” Dan asked as I was heading out the door.

“No,” I answered resolutely.

He gave me disbelieving look; I tried to ignore it.

The event in question was the launch of their Spring/Summer 2013 catalog. We stayed for the whole spiel, and I ended up buying a mother-of-pearl necklace and matching earrings. I did not, however, book a party or become a vendor, so I’m calling that a win.

As it turned out, Nikki won two raffles: a pair of earrings and a necklace. Since I came out to join her on short notice, she insisted on giving me my choice of the two items. I took the earrings.

“I thought you weren’t buying anything,” Dan commented when I came home.

That’s what I love about him – he’s so good at not rubbing it in when he’s right.

The earrings Nikki gave me.

Enhanced by Zemanta
