A Wibbly-Wobbly Timey-Wimey Gift

by swellsbennett

I am blessed with awesome friends. Ella and Emma, with whom I have shared more than half of my life, are just two of the wonderful women I know I can always count on. And though I know that I can call them and we will be able to pick up right where we left off, they are both far away from me physically – and in two different parts of the country no less! Other friends have waxed and waned over the years; though I still hold them close in my heart, our lives have taken divergent paths.

But I want to talk to you today about my friend, Nikki (previously referred to as Pandora). We met a few years ago while working for a national homebuilder here in the valley. She was one of a team of people crafting mass emails for the salespeople; I was the editor for the team. I didn’t expect to make friends. After all, who likes the dweeb who spends all day telling them how much their grammar sucks? On top of that, I tend to be a little standoffish when it comes to office friendships – if they go sour, they ruin the whole job. Nevertheless, Pandora seemed to warm to me, heaping praise on my editing skills and generally making me feel talented and useful. It is at least partly to her credit that I am now a novelist; she encouraged me to follow my dreams and listened to me talk through my entire first novel! When that novel was done, she also became my cover artist. To date, she has produced each and every one of my novels’ art.

A couple of years ago, I introduced her to Doctor Who. She and I have wiled away far more hours than two responsible adults ever should watching that absolutely fantastic British sci-fi show (only the reboot, though – I don’t think the episodes from the last century have aged well). She is well aware, therefore, of my abiding crush on the Tenth Doctor (played by David Tennant).

This week, Nikki came over bearing gifts – this was the first time we had seen each other since before my birthday. After giving me what I thought was my only gift – a few framed photos from last year’s birthday celebration – she told me that my REAL gift was still in her car. She excitedly ran out of the house to retrieve it while I waited in my living room.

Once she was back in the kitchen, she asked, “Do you want a hint?”

“Okay.”

“I brought you something that’s bigger on the inside!”

“You brought me a TARDIS?”

She came around the corner bearing a Barbie-scale TARDIS that she built out of plywood and foam core. It’s amazing! She even came up with a way for the light on top to work! Inside the blue box was the Tenth Doctor, right down to his sneakers and sonic screwdriver. Here’s the best part: she “made” him too! After looking the “action figures” available for purchase, she decided she could do better. For my part, I think she did great. Every time I walk past my Doctor and his TARDIS, I smile so wide my cheeks hurt. I’m going to give him a permanent place in my office just as soon as Dan relocates his globe.

Thank you, Nikki – you are an amazing, talented woman and I am honored to have you for a friend.

007

My very own Doctor!

