A Rock-Solid Friendship

by swellsbennett

Emma and I have been friends since we were in our early twenties – nearly twenty years ago now. I have seen her through the beginnings and endings of two marriages; she has seen me through the beginning and ending of one, as well as served as my Matron of Honor at my second wedding.

Seeing her again after five years brought a lot of memories to the surface – not all of them good. Our relationship has, at times, been rocky. I’m sure she sees me as a “Goody Two-Shoes.” I worry about her depression and her need for men. We have different tastes in music, entertainment, and recreational activities. But she has proven to be as rock-solid as a friend can be.

You see, around this time eleven years ago, I asked my first husband to remove himself from our apartment. I gave him two weeks to get his crap together and find somewhere else to live. Emma and her husband at the time were our closest “couple” friends. I still remember Emma asking me if I was sure I wanted to end the marriage. She said something to the effect of “You might spend the rest of your life alone.” I told her I’d rather be alone forever than spend one more miserable year with my husband. She was completely behind my decision from that moment on.

When moving day came, Emma called me at around 10 a.m. “Is he moving?” she asked.

I was already beside myself. My husband hadn’t yet lifted a finger to pack, despite my repeated admonitions that he would not be staying in my apartment that night. “No!” I practically shouted into the phone.

“We’ll be right there,” Emma said and hung up.

Within the hour, five of my friends, including Emma and her husband, were removing my soon-to-be ex’s belongings from my apartment. At the end of the day, my new life was starting, thanks to them.

Since then, there have been times when our friendship has been tested, and even stretched to its breaking point. But, when it comes right down to it, Emma will always be my friend. If she called tomorrow and needed me at her side, I would go, because I believe she has done – and would do – the same for me.

Photo credit: Susan Wells Bennett

The “little rock” of Little Rock, Arkansas — the city where Emma now resides.

Enhanced by Zemanta
